Richard Turfitt has been appointed as the new Senior Traffic Commissioner by Transport Minister John Hayes.

Currently the Traffic Commissioner for the East of England, he will begin his new role on 1 June 2017, taking over from the current Senior Traffic Commissioner, Beverley Bell.

Richard Turfitt, said: “I am excited to be asked to take up the role of Senior Traffic Commissioner for Great Britain.

“There is no doubt that I have a hard act to follow and I want to thank Beverley for her work as Senior Traffic Commissioner over the last 5 years. We have a strong, dedicated team of traffic commissioners and I look forward to continuing that work with them, to support responsible, compliant operators and drivers and focus our scrutiny on those who pose serious risks to safety standards.”

Current Senior Traffic Commissioner, Beverley Bell, said: “Richard has been an unstinting source of support for me in my time as Senior Traffic Commissioner and I feel comfortable leaving the role in his capable hands”

Two new traffic commissioners have been appointed by Transport Secretary Chris Grayling, Tim Blackmore OBE for the North East, sitting in Leeds. Simon Evans, currently a Deputy Traffic Commissioner has been appointed for and the It is expected that they will take up their new roles from May 2017.

Colonel Tim Blackmore currently heads the British Forces Post Office and was commissioned into the Royal Corps of Transport in 1992. He is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Transport and Logistics and the Chartered Management Institute.

Tim Blackmore will fill the post vacated by Kevin Rooney, who took over the West of England in October 2016. Simon Evans will replace Beverley Bell when she steps down in Spring 2017.

The Secretary of State has also appointed 4 new deputy traffic commissioners:

  • Mark Hinchliffe as Deputy Traffic Commissioner for the North East of England
  • Jayne Salt as Deputy Traffic Commissioner for the North West of England
  • Laura Thomas as Deputy Traffic Commissioner for the East of England
  • Hugh Olson in Scotland

Traffic commissioners are responsible for the regulation of bus, coach and goods vehicle operators, and registration of local bus services. Where appropriate, they can call operators to a public inquiry to examine concerns about vehicle and driver safety. They also deal with professional drivers at conduct hearings.

In August 2016, Nick Jones was announced as the first Traffic Commissioner for Wales, having previously been appointed to a joint area of Wales and West Midlands.

Covering the remaining traffic areas are Kevin Rooney dealing with the West of England and Sarah Bell dealing with London and the South Eat. Joan Aitkin remains Traffic Commissioner for Scotland.

We wish the Traffic Commissioners every success in their new posts.

If you any queries contact our specialist Transport Law solicitors for advice on 0115 910 6239